top of page

My Inspiration


I have been working on my Goodreads author page and there is a section where followers can ask you questions. One of the pre-loaded questions is "Where do you find your inspiration?" I actually smiled when I answered this question. Here's why:

Yes, some of my inspiration is obviously from mythology and fairy tales. Those are just super fun genres that I love to learn more about and worlds I can dive right into.

However, my characters have their own source of inspiration -- my girls. My days are spent (during the school year) with two little girls who can make a day crazier than a cat on a catnip high. Although trying at times, they are the best to spend time with. My mornings and evenings/nights are filled with all the girls and their entertaining ways. They cover the entire spectrum and it's amazing to see the differences in where they are in life and how they react to different things, not to mention the fact that six sisters could be so different from each other. It is a bottomless well of research and inspiration disguised as everyday life.

I have had people read my first book and say that I have a knack for writing teenage girls. Well, let me tell you, most of what I have written were things I know my daughters would actually say. As I write, I usually see my girls in place of the character modeled after them. It makes things much easier to envision and, apparently, lends a touch of authenticity to the story. I guess that's why they say to write what you know.

So, to those crazy girls I love so very much, THANK YOU. Thank you for being you and for inspiring me to be me.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page