top of page

Remaining Neutral


I debated not writing this blog post. I could have taken the easy way out and written about something nobody really cares about. But then, why write in the first place if I don't want anyone to care?

I have a tendency to hide in my home and not participate with the great big world out there. I don't watch the news as much as I should. I don't get involved with community events as much as I should. I often choose to not leave my home for days because I just don't want to deal with people. Because of these things, I don't often feel I should insert my opinion into anything political or controversial. But, today, I am going to.

Yesterday I had to pick up my husband from the St. Louis airport. He warned me to stay away from the city because a verdict had come down and many of the citizens were not happy about it. I had to google what verdict because I didn't even know there was a controversial case happening in St. Louis. I read several articles about the 2011 shooting of Mr. Smith by Officer Stockley and I read several articles about the judge's decision. I hurt for Mr. Smith's family and friends. The loss of a loved one is always difficult, but to have lost him in this manner multiplies that pain. I worry about our honorable

police officers who make split second decisions every day and are now having to second guess everything for fear of being prosecuted. I am sad for everyone involved in this case, but I most especially feel for the judge.

Judge Wilson was tasked with a nearly impossible job: determine if this white cop is innocent or guilty of murdering a black man 6 years ago, oh, and try not to upset the community because they have already threatened to shut down the city if you come back and say not guilty. Nobody wants that job. But Judge Wilson took it on. He listened to testimony, he got all the evidence provided to him, he pored over it for hours upon hours, he reread the court transcripts, he checked the evidence again just to make sure he didn't miss anything and he came back with an acquittal. An acquittal. Not that Officer Stockley was innocent. He didn't say, "That police officer did not commit this crime." Just that the prosecution did not prove BEYOND A REASONABLE DOUBT that he was guilty. That is our justice system. That is how it is supposed to work. The prosecution bears the burden of proof. They are the ones who have to prove to a judge or a jury that the accused absolutely committed this crime, beyond question. And in this case, there were just too many questions not answered with proof.

Judge Timothy Wilson deserves to be praised for doing his job the way it was intended. He did something most people are unable to do: he remained neutral, listened, and followed the evidence. He did what our justice system is supposed to do. And I commend him for that.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page